Nothing can separate them from His love…

I pause. I listen. I read. I look around.
And my heart trembles.
These things that I only occasionally heard about when I was young are common now, acceptable.
Times are changing.
Yet those words, “…There is nothing new under the sun.”
Nothing. All these horrible things are age old.

I cuddle them close, these two little people.
Their blue eyes look up at me, trusting.
I close my eyes, wishing they could always live in this innocence,
not knowing of the shootings, crimes, sin that fills the world around them.
I want to protect them.
Fear at what they may face in their lives seems a natural reaction.

Image

 Till I remember.

Those words of authority also said,
“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

The chill in my heart melts.
I look into these eyes again and breathe a prayer of gratitude.
Not a day will go by, not a moment of temptation, not one life experience will be experienced
without God THERE.
Nothing will be so terrible that these little people will find themselves without God.
Faced with gruesome and unfathomable sights,
these little hearts will be held by the God who made them, and will not leave them.
For nothing can separate them from their Maker.

I marvel at the opportunity I have to train them.
Teach them. To mold, in a way, their thought patterns.
And in this light, the task is beautiful. It is not dependant on me to know everything.
Just guide their hearts to the one who is walking with them through life.
Allowing them to see things, to watch, to learn,
so that they can walk through this darkness
with the light of his presence shining in their hearts,
illuminating the world around them.

I look again. The dark doesn’t seem so ominous. So foreboding.
I smile. He is here.

One thought on “Nothing can separate them from His love…

  1. Just this morning I read an older commenter on a FB post who said he can never look at young people anymore without wondering what they will have to face in their life. It occurred to me that there was most likely a time when his Dad looked at him and wondered the same thing, and his grandpa too, and so on. As our responsibilities change and our awareness of the proximity of death grows, our perspectives on what is really important also change. Truly there is nothing new under the sun, except the mercies of God which are new every morning!

Leave a Reply

