The best is yet to come…

It was late as we drove home last night. Again. We have been burning the late candle constantly this past while. Youth Bible School, a birthday party, a few other projects thrown in, and while it’s been really, really good,
it gets to you after a while.

I blinked into the darkness, and told Daniel, “I feel so… exhausted.”
“The kind that a night of sleep won’t fix?” he asked.
He knew the answer already. I nodded.

I want to hit these anniversaries with a special strength, and preparedness that will help carry me through.
But today hit me totally off guard.
Seven years ago today, Isaac slipped into the depths of the Lempa River and emerged on the shores of Heaven.
We want to think that as years pass, we will become more able to face the pain, the rawness, the ache.
And the edge does fade, some. But there are times when it is so raw and fresh,
it knocks the breath out of you and leaves you gasping.

IMG_6386

This morning we taste tears again, and miss that laugh all his, and wish our kids could grow up crawling all over him… He loved kids so, so much. But through blurry eyes, I find true rest in looking to the Author of this story, the One who sees all, and does everything well. Looking here, at the pain and loss, it is confusing.

But when I look deep into the Creator, I find rest for my weariness, and peace for this aching heart…

2008-03-16 at 07-29-50

“Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord
We will wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord
Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord
We will wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord

Our God, You reign forever
Our hope, our Strong Deliverer

‘Cause You are, You are the everlasting God
The everlasting God
You do not faint
You won’t grow weary

You’re the defender of the weak
You comfort those in need
You lift us up on the wings
Like eagles

From everlasting to everlasting
God, You are everlasting”

-Chris Tomlin

2008-03-18 at 07-07-11

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us.” Romans 8:18

Through the tears, yet there is peace. We are only in the middle of this story. The best is yet to come.
And again, I am grateful.

7 thoughts on “The best is yet to come…

  1. Oh, your faith. It inspires me. Thank you for believing, and for pointing me to such strength! It’s been said that God can use our broken pieces to heal others…I bless you for allowing God to do this through you! Not just me, but so many others also. “Thank you” seems too shallow…

  2. The best is yet to come…I appreciate that even in your grief, you have chosen to see God. I like to imagine that reunion day when all things will be made clear, and we will be HOME with our Jesus. Thinking of you.

  3. Crying with you…..our gentle, strong brothers are in perfection itself. We only need to finish our course, to run our race, then we will be reunited forever….oh how we will sing!

  4. Thank you for reminding me of this song… It’s perfect for me right now. I love reading these words from your heart. You are a strong women. And I am blessed by you many times. Your Aunt Susie just mentioned your name to me recently. If you come see her, is love to meet you:)

Leave a Reply

